Competitions of Rowing

Side by side

Head races

Bumps races

Stake races

World Championships and Olympics

Rowing at the Olympic Games on an East German Stamp for the 1980 Olympic Games
Main articles: World Rowing Championships and Rowing at the Summer Olympics

The Olympic Games are held every four years, where only select boat classes are raced (14 in total):

  • Men: quad scull, double scull, single scull, eight, coxless four, and coxless pair
  • Lightweight Men: coxless four and double scull
  • Women: quad scull, double scull, single scull, eight, and coxless pair
  • Lightweight Women: double scull

At the end of each year, the FISA holds the World Rowing Championships with events in 22 different boat classes. Athletes generally consider the Olympic classes to be premier events . During Olympic years only non-Olympic boats compete at the World Championships.