Records of Water Polo

Olympic medals in men’s water polo

Games Gold Silver Bronze
1900 Paris Great Britain Belgium France
1904 St. Louis United States United States United States
1908 London Great Britain Belgium Sweden
1912 Stockholm Great Britain Sweden Belgium
1920 Antwerp Great Britain Belgium Sweden
1924 Paris France Belgium United States
1928 Amsterdam Germany Hungary France
1932 Los Angeles Hungary Germany United States
1936 Berlin Hungary Germany Belgium
1948 London Italy Hungary Netherlands
1952 Helsinki Hungary Yugoslavia Italy
1956 Melbourne Hungary Yugoslavia Soviet Union
1960 Rome Italy Soviet Union Hungary
1964 Tokyo Hungary Yugoslavia Soviet Union
1968 Mexico City Yugoslavia Soviet Union Hungary
1972 Munich Soviet Union Hungary United States
1976 Montreal Hungary Italy Netherlands
1980 Moscow Soviet Union Yugoslavia Hungary
1984 Los Angeles Yugoslavia United States West Germany
1988 Seoul Yugoslavia United States Soviet Union
1992 Barcelona Italy Spain Unified Team
1996 Atlanta Spain Croatia Italy
2000 Sydney Hungary Russia Yugoslavia
2004 Athens Hungary Serbia and Montenegro Russia
2008 Beijing Hungary United States Serbia
2012 London Croatia Italy Serbia
2016 Rio de Janeiro Serbia Croatia Italy


Olympic medals in women’s water polo


Games Gold Silver Bronze
2000 Sydney Australia United States Russia
2004 Athens Italy Greece United States
2008 Beijing Netherlands United States Australia
2012 London United States Spain Australia
2016 Rio de Janeiro United States Italy Russia